Student Opportunities

 
 

So you're thinking about a career in genetic counseling. That is great! Genetic counseling is a dynamic and rapidly growing field that offers many opportunities for rewarding careers.

Whether you are just starting to explore the field or have already decided to apply to genetic counseling school, shadowing a genetic counselor is the best way to continue on in your journey. Therefore, we have compiled a list of clinics around the state of Wisconsin that have shadowing opportunities. Please contact the designated contact person for more information on shadowing in their clinic. 

**Please note that each clinic may have differing levels of opportunities or commitment requirements as well as other rules and regulations that they have to follow.

 
 

- INTERN OPPORTUNITIES -

  • Position: Genetic Counseling Student Worker

  • Location: Versiti Diagnostic Laboratories (Blood Center of Wisconsin) | 638 North 18th Street, Milwaukee, WI 53233

    Questions? Please contact: Stefanie Dugan (SDugan@versiti.org) or Jamie McCreery (JMcCreery@Versiti.org)

  • Positiion: MCW Genetic Counseling Internship, the Program for Undergraduate Research Experience (PURE)

  • Location: Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI

  • Involves shadowing opportunities, aiding in administrative tasks, program development projects, and community education events. Must be currently enrolled in college in junior or senior year, with a minimum GPA of 3.0 and previously completed college level biology or genetics course.

 
 

 
 

- SHADOWING -

 

Aurora

  • Specialty: Prenatal

  • Location: Varies

  • Contact: Kate Stuewe (kate.stuewe@aurora.org)


UnityPoint Health - Meriter

  • Specialty: Prenatal

  • Location: Madison

  • Contact: Laura Dattilo (laura.dattilo@unitypoint.org)


SSM Health - St. Mary’s Hospital

  • Specialty: Prenatal

  • Location: Madison

  • Contact: Natalie Berger (natalie.berger@ssmhleath.com) OR Max Wilson (max.wilson@ssmhealth.com)

UW Health

  • Specialty: Cancer

  • Location: Madison

  • Contact: Angela Tess (atess@uwhealth.org)


ThedaCare

  • Specialty: Cancer

  • Location: Appleton

  • Contact: Bobbi McGivern (bobbi.mcgivern@thedacare.org)


ProHealth Care

  • Specialty: Cancer

  • Location: Waukesha

  • Contact: Margo Grady (margo.grady@phci.org


Gundersen Health System

  • Specialty: Cancer & Blood Disorders

  • Location: La Crosse

  • Contact: Becky Pabst (rlpabst@gundersenhealth.org) & Katie Wing (klwing@gundersenhealth.org)

UW Health

  • Specialty: Pediatrics

  • Location: Madison

  • Contact: Lisa Fisher (lfisher@pediatrics.wisc.edu)


Medical College of Wisconsin

  • Specialty: Pediatrics

  • Location: Milwaukee

  • Contact: Victoria Schwarzinger (vschwarzinger@mcw.edu) OR Erin Syverson (esyverson@mcw.edu)


St. Vincent

  • Specialty: Any

  • Location: Green Bay

  • Contact: Emma Sabel (emma.sabel@hshs.org)

 

We will continue to add opportunities as we hear back!


Photo by Steve Debenport/iStock / Getty Images
Photo by AlexRaths/iStock / Getty Images

 

Genetic Counseling Case Series

The University of Cincinnati Genetic Counseling Graduate Program offers online courses related to genetic counseling, including a Genetic Counseling Case Series that provides an introduction to the genetic counseling profession through clinical and laboratory case examples. For a full list of courses offered, click here.

 

Additional Resources

 

List of all accredited and soon-to-be accredited genetic counseling programs in North America.  Use this website to find links to all potential programs so you can begin your research on what schools you may be interested in.

Website maintained by the program directors of genetic counseling schools in North America.  Contains helpful insights for prospective students.

More information for prospective students including a downloadable spreadsheet template to help you compare schools you are interested in.